Raute undergoes organisation changes, with effect from 1 Jan 2023

One of Raute’s Plywood Lay-up Line (Image: Raute)

Raute has announced that it is entering a new phase in its journey to create value in forest assets. To better address the current operational and strategic development plans, Raute will change its organisation structure.

The new structure aims to strengthen Raute’s ability to service customers and streamlines internal operations. The change will also be reflected in the executive board composition and responsibility areas. 

As of 1 Jan 2023, Raute will have three business units of Wood Processing, Analyzers, and Services, each with a clear focus and accountability for its respective business operations.

The executive board will consist of the CEO, three executive vice-presidents, one for each business unit and three functional roles: chief commercial officer (CCO), chief people officer (CPO), and chief financial officer (CFO). 

According to Raute, the Wood Processing business unit includes Raute’s core technology offering for veneer, plywood and laminated veneer lumber (LVL) production.

Delivery scope includes separate production equipment, modernisations, as well as full mill-scale projects. The unit will be headed by Petri Strengell, who has been with Raute since 1987, and is currently a member of the executive board responsible for the supply chain operations. Strengell has also acted as Raute’s interim CEO from May-September 2022.

Analyzers business unit serves customers with Raute’s latest measurement technology for sorting veneer, plywood and LVL, and measurement equipment for sawn timber. It will be headed by Jani Roivainen, who has been with Raute since 2011 and has been responsible for the Metrix business as a member of the executive board since 2019. 

Services business unit focuses on Raute’s full-service concept ranging from spare parts deliveries to regular maintenance, digital services and equipment upgrades. It will be headed by Kurt Bossuyt, who joined Raute in 2016. Currently, Bossuyt is a member of the executive board. heading the Basic Services business since 2019. 

The CCO is a new functional role in the executive board. Its responsibility includes Raute’s market operations, sales and marketing, as well as commercial excellence and development. Jari Myyryläinen is appointed CCO and a member of the executive board as of 1 Jan 2023. Myyryläinen has worked in Raute since 2020 and is currently heading Raute’s EMEA market area. 

Marko Hjelt is appointed CPO, responsible for the group-wide human resources, people development, and health and safety. Hjelt has been with Raute since 2013 and is currently responsible for the human resources function as an executive board member. 

The CFO is responsible for the finance, information and communications technology (ICT), investor’s relations, ESG and other business support. Minna Yrjönmäki is continuing in the interim CFO role, which she has been responsible for since May 2022. 

Mika Saariaho will continue to be the president and CEO of Raute. Raute’s external financial reporting structure also will not change.

Saariaho commented: “The new organisation structure will take Raute closer to our customers through dedicated business units and new commercial function. Raute will further strengthen its ability to deliver superior service to our customers, including successful project delivery, as well as advanced technology services tailored to customer needs.

“The new organisation will streamline our ways of working and ensure focus on further development of Raute’s core competences. I am pleased to welcome Jari Myyryläinen to join the Executive Board and wish the best of luck to all nominated Executive Board members in their roles.”

Following these changes, current executive board members Mika Hyysti and Jukka Siiriäinen will leave the company by the end of this year. Timo Kangas will continue in the company in a new role, however outside of the executive board. 

“I want to thank warmly the departing executive board members Timo Kangas, Mika Hyysti and Jukka Siiriäinen for their excellent commitment and work in the executive board and the company over the past years,” concluded Saariaho.