Asia launches regional forestry cooperation network

A new network for Asia’s forestry sector has been launched, an intergovernmental organisation that will collectively address the impact of climate change.

The Asian Forest Cooperation Organization comprises the member nations: Korea, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Laos, Mongolia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Timor-Leste and Vietnam.

Almost US$24 million have been committed for projects to 2023. Another S$16.6 million have been earmarked for programmes that include a regional education and training centre in Myanmar, forest genetics research centre for restoration of major timber species in Cambodia, rehabilitation and development of the mangrove forest ecosystem in Binh Province, Vietnam and forest rehabilitation in Laos.